Home Page


Welcome to our Governors' section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

The Governing Body at Southfield Primary School is made up of staff Governors, Parent Governors and other Governors drawn from the community who have no other direct links with the school.


Governors come from all walks of life and it is important that the Governing Body is made up of a varied mix of people – each bringing their own area of expertise to the table. Governors attend two meetings each term but, sometimes, there may  be a need for an additional meeting.


Meetings are usually held at 5:45pm and last for up to three hours. Meetings for the academic year 2019-20 are scheduled for the following dates:

  • Thursday 3rd October - Full Governors Meeting
  • Thursday 31st October - Governors Pay Committee
  • Thursday 5th December - Full Governors Meeting
  • Thursday 6th February - Full Governors Meeting
  • Thursday 26th March - Full Governors Meeting
  • Thursday 21st May - Full Governors Meeting
  • Thursday 9th July - Full Governors Meeting


Governors have a very responsible role to play in the school. Being a Governor is an unpaid job but there is some training available.

Declaration of Interest and Governor Responsibilities 2019

Governor Name Type of Governor Chair, Vice Chair, or Chair of Committee Membership of Committee Connections to Staff Term of Office End Date Other Governors post held Business Interests Declared Other Information
S Baldwin AS     No 31.12.22   None DHT - Southfield
L Farrell PG     No 31.12.22   None  
D Hubbard STF     No 31.12.22   None Staff - Southfield
D Mackness LA   Pay No 27.6.19 - resigned   LBC Catering  
M Mason CG Vice Chair Pay No 26.3.20 - resigned   None  
A McNulty CG   Pay No 11.7.19 - resigned   None DHT - Whitefield Primary Academy
R Melrose AS     No 11.7.19 - resigned PLT Trustee None DHT - Southfield
S Pollard HT     No Ex Officio   None HT - Southfield
M Price PG Chair of GB and Pay Pay No 31.12.22   None  
M Sherwin-Peddie CG   Pay No 2.10.23 Beechwood Primary School None HT - Beechwood

Key: LA Local Authority nominated or appointed governor;PG Elected or appointed Parent Governor;STF Staff governor;FOU Foundation Governor (state appointing body);CG Co-opted Governor, appointed by the governing body;TN Partnership Governor;AS Associate member;HT Headteacher

Governors' Attendance at Meetings


Governor 28th Mar '19 23rd May '19 11th July '19 3rd Oct '19 5th Dec '19 6th Feb '20 26th Mar '20 1st May '20 11th June '20
Sarah Baldwin P P P P P P Meeting Postponed due to School Closure P P
Lucy Farrell P P P Apologies P Apologies P P
Dawn Hubbard P P Apologies P P P P P
David Mackness P Apologies xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx
Martine Mason A P P P Apologies Apologies xxx xxx
Amy McNulty Apologies P P xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx
Ralph Melrose Apologies P P xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx
Sarah Pollard P P P P P P P P
Matt Price P P P P P P P P
Mark Sherwin-Peddie xxx xxx xxx P P P P Apologies

P – present, A – absent (no apologies received), Apologies – apologies received and accepted, xxx – not a member of the governing body at this time.

Chair of Governors - Mr Matt Price

Our Chair of Governors is Mr Matt Price. Mr Price can be contacted at the school address.